News Matsuyama

The Soapland Crackdown Reached Dogo Onsen. Seven Arrests, and Not One Was for Selling Sex.

Ehime police arrested seven men over two days at a soapland and a 'health' shop in Matsuyama, booking all of them under the Anti-Prostitution Act clause that punishes providing the room. The women and the customers described in the allegations were not arrested — the statute does not reach them.

The Soapland Crackdown Reached Dogo Onsen. Seven Arrests, and Not One Was for Selling Sex.

Two Shops, Two Days

Matsuyama-Higashi police in Ehime Prefecture arrested seven men over two days this week at two sex businesses in Matsuyama, the prefectural capital and the city that wraps around Dōgo Onsen, one of Japan's oldest hot springs. Both cases were booked under the same offense: violating the Anti-Prostitution Act — the baishun bōshi-hō — by running a business that provided a place for prostitution.

The arrests were reported on September 9, 2026 by TV Ehime and, in two separate items the same day, by the Ehime Shimbun. Police said the operations are part of an intensified campaign to "purify" the city's entertainment district.

Soapland case "Health" shop case
Arrested Operator, 68 Operator, 48, plus five male employees
Date of arrest September 9 September 8, in the act
Residence as reported Minami-doi-machi, Matsuyama Kami-ichi, Matsuyama (employees: Matsuyama)
Alleged period July 26, 2025 – June 3, 2026 September 8, 2026
Women and customers described Five and five Two and two
Plea Not disclosed All six admit

None of the seven were named in the reporting reviewed here. Ages and neighborhoods of residence are as the outlets stated them.

Caught With the Door Open

The second case is the one that shows how this kind of enforcement actually works.

On September 8, officers moved on a "health" shop — herusu, the category of sex business licensed under the Businesses Affecting Public Morals Regulation Act, the fūei-hō, to sell non-penetrative services — and arrested six men in the act. Police allege that on that day the shop knowingly furnished private rooms in which two female employees had intercourse with two paying male customers. All six admitted the allegations, according to TV Ehime.

What stands out is the arrest of the five employees alongside the operator. In most place-provision cases in Japan, the people taken into custody are owners, corporate officers and managers. Booking rank-and-file staff signals that police treated the men who received customers and handed over rooms as participants in the business itself, not as bystanders to it. It also suggests the raid was timed to catch the shop mid-shift rather than to build a case from records afterward.

A Ten-Month Paper Case

The soapland arrest the next day was the opposite kind of police work.

The 68-year-old operator is accused of running a soapland in which, between July 26, 2025 and June 3, 2026, five female employees had sex with five customers in private rooms he knowingly provided. Reports place the shop in Dōgo-Takōmachi, the cluster of businesses a short walk from the bathhouse that draws Matsuyama's tourists.

The structure of that allegation is worth reading closely. It names a ten-month window and pairs five specific women with five specific customers — the shape of a case assembled from booking records, payment data and statements, not from a single night's observation. The last dated instance is more than three months old. Whether the operator admits or denies was not disclosed.

That two cases of such different character surfaced within twenty-four hours of each other points to a sustained investigation rather than a single sweep.

The Clause That Reaches the Operator

Japan's Anti-Prostitution Act, enacted in 1956, is built on a division that this week's arrests make plain.

Article 3 states that no person shall engage in prostitution or be its customer — and attaches no penalty to either. The women and the men described in both Matsuyama allegations were not arrested, and under the statute as written they cannot be punished for the transaction itself. The law's criminal weight falls on the people around it.

Article 11 is the clause used here. Its two paragraphs are graded:

  • Paragraph 1 — knowingly providing a place for prostitution: up to three years' confinement or a fine of up to 100,000 yen.
  • Paragraph 2 — making a business of providing that place: up to seven years' confinement and a fine of up to 300,000 yen.

Japanese courts have read "making a business of it" broadly. An innkeeper who repeatedly lets rooms for prostitution falls under paragraph 2 even without taking a cut of what the women earn; what matters is repetition and effective control over the premises. Both Matsuyama shops were described in the reporting as having conducted such a business — the operative phrase in the Japanese coverage was eigyō o shita, "carried on the business" — which places them in the heavier paragraph.

The fine ceilings are original to 1956 and have never been raised. A shop grossing what a licensed soapland grosses faces a statutory maximum fine of 300,000 yen — roughly $2,000. The deterrent, such as it is, lives entirely in the prison term and in the collateral consequence: a fūei-hō licence, once its holder is convicted, is gone.

Why Here, Why Now

Matsuyama is the latest stop on a map that has been filling in all year.

Since the spring, police have brought place-provision cases against soaplands in Tokyo's Yoshiwara, Sendai's Aoba Ward, Kobe's Fukuhara, Niigata and Wakayama City, ending decades in which those districts operated as an open secret. Legal commentators reading the wave have argued it is aimed upstream: the shops pay referral fees to the illegal recruiting networks known as scouts, and prosecuting the shops starves the recruiters. The two largest of those networks, "Access" and "Natural," have both been dismantled in stages since 2025.

The Matsuyama-Higashi station has been working that same seam locally. On August 27, it arrested two men in their twenties over referrals of three women into a cabaret club in the city's entertainment district, charging them under the Employment Security Act for placing workers for a fee without the national licence. Two weeks later, the same station was inside the shops.

There is a legislative clock running behind all of it. A Justice Ministry expert panel has spent 2026 reviewing the Anti-Prostitution Act — the first substantive rework of its architecture in seven decades — and in August circulated a draft report that would extend the solicitation offense to buyers, who currently face nothing, and raise the fine ceilings the statute has carried since the 1950s. The report is expected to be finalized this month, with a bill under consideration for the autumn extraordinary Diet session.

The women in these two cases will not appear in either prosecution. That is the design of the law, and it is the part the panel is not proposing to change.


Sources: TV Ehime (EBC) reporting of September 9, 2026, published 2:27 p.m. and updated 8:17 p.m., carried via Yahoo! News Japan and dmenu, for the ages, neighborhoods of residence, arrest dates, alleged offense periods, the numbers of women and customers, the admissions in the health-shop case, the Dōgo-Takōmachi location and the police statement on purifying the entertainment district; Ehime Shimbun ONLINE reporting of September 9, 2026 in two separate items confirming the arrest of a sex-business operator and, separately, the in-the-act arrest of an operator and five employees, both by Matsuyama-Higashi police; Tokyo Reporter's English account of September 10, 2026. Penalties are those set out in Articles 3 and 11 of the Anti-Prostitution Act as currently in force. The August 27 cabaret-referral arrests were reported by Ehime outlets at the time. The national crackdown context draws on 2026 reporting and legal commentary previously summarized on this site. No one arrested is named, consistent with the source reporting. Arrest is an allegation, not a finding of guilt. Glossary: baishun bōshi-hō = the Anti-Prostitution Act, which leaves the sale and purchase of sex unpunished but criminalizes third parties and public solicitation; fūei-hō = the Businesses Affecting Public Morals Regulation Act, which licenses and polices nightlife and sex businesses; soapland = a bathhouse-format sex business; herusu ("health") = a licensed shop category nominally limited to non-penetrative services.