News Kyoto

A 'Men's Esthetic' Near Kyoto Station Ran Out of Four Rented Rooms. Police Say It Was a Sex Shop in a Banned Zone.

Kyoto prefectural police arrested two men over KOAKUMA DOLL, a business that advertised online as a men's esthetic salon and operated out of four one-room apartments near Kyoto Station. Investigators say about 45 women worked for it and that it took in roughly 50 million yen in a year, in wards where premises-based sex businesses are banned outright.

A 'Men's Esthetic' Near Kyoto Station Ran Out of Four Rented Rooms. Police Say It Was a Sex Shop in a Banned Zone.

Four Rooms, One Website

Kyoto prefectural police have arrested two men on suspicion of running a premises-based sex business out of rented apartments within walking distance of Kyoto Station, in wards where such businesses are prohibited outright.

The shop was called KOAKUMA DOLL. Online, according to police, it presented itself as a men's esthetic salon — a menzu esute, the massage-style service category that sits outside Japan's licensing regime for adult businesses. Customers who booked were directed to a specific apartment, in one of four buildings near the station, where a woman met them.

The arrests were reported on September 10, 2026 by the Kyoto Shimbun and the Sankei Shimbun, and on September 11 by the Yomiuri Shimbun. Sankei put the arrests on September 9 and named the two men as Yuto Shimizu, 29, the operator, and Rikuya Fujii, 27, an employee. The Kyoto Shimbun withheld the names and described both as residents of Fushimi Ward in Kyoto City. Neither has been convicted of anything, and police did not disclose how the two responded to the allegation.

The arrest allegation is narrow, as these allegations usually are. Investigators from the Kyoto Prefectural Police Community Safety Division and Shimogyo Police Station say that on July 3 and again on August 7, in one-room apartments in Shimogyo Ward and Minami Ward, the two had female employees provide sexual services to male customers — operating, in the language of the statute, a premises-based adult business in an area where that is not permitted. The Kyoto Shimbun reported that two women were involved in the counts, one of them 24 years old.

The scale is what carried the story beyond the local page. Sankei reported that the operation employed roughly 45 women, rented four apartment units, and took in about 50 million yen between March 2025 and February 2026. The Yomiuri headline put it at more than 40 employees and 50 million yen in a year.

Detail As reported
Arrested Yuto Shimizu, 29, operator; Rikuya Fujii, 27, employee (names per Sankei)
Police Kyoto Prefectural Police Community Safety Division; Shimogyo Police Station
Charge Violation of the fūei-hō — reported variously as prohibited-area operation and unlicensed operation
Alleged acts July 3 and August 7, 2026, in one-room apartments in Shimogyo and Minami wards
Shop KOAKUMA DOLL, advertised online as a men's esthetic salon
Premises Four rented one-room units in buildings near Kyoto Station
Workforce About 45 women
Estimated revenue About 50 million yen, March 2025 to February 2026
Suspects' responses Not disclosed

Why the Zone Matters More Than the Service

The fūei-hō — the Businesses Affecting Public Morals Regulation Act — divides adult commerce into categories and treats them very differently depending on whether the customer comes to a building.

A premises-based sex business, a tenpo-gata seifūzoku tokushu eigyō, must file notification with the public safety commission and may not operate at all inside zones that prefectural ordinance places off limits: near schools, libraries and hospitals, and across broad stretches of residential and central urban land. Kyoto's ordinance is among the country's more restrictive, and the blocks around Kyoto Station fall inside the prohibition. No filing would have made the business lawful there. That is what separates this case from a paperwork violation — the location itself is the offense.

A men's esthetic salon, by contrast, has no licensing tier at all. It is a free business. It files nothing, is inspected by no one, and answers to the fūei-hō only from the moment the state can prove that what it sells is sex. That asymmetry is the architecture of the case: a shop that would be barred from the neighborhood under its true name can occupy it under a different one, and enforcement has to begin with proof of a specific act, on a specific date, in a specific room.

Hence the shape of the allegation — two dates, seven weeks apart, in two wards.

The National Police Agency Wrote This Fact Pattern Down

The Kyoto case is not an outlier. It matches, almost line for line, the example the National Police Agency chose to publish as a model enforcement case in its annual report on adult-business policing, released in April 2026 and covering calendar 2025.

Under the heading "prohibited-area operation at premises disguised as a men's esthetic shop," the NPA describes an operator who ran a men's esthe front inside an ordinance-barred zone and had female employees provide sexual services to male customers in apartment rooms. Oita prefectural police made that case in June 2025.

What the same report shows is that this enforcement category is not growing. It is shrinking, along with almost everything else in the licensed sector.

National totals 2021 2025
Fūei-hō violations, all types (cases) 936 662
— Prohibited-area operation (cases) 167 118
— Unlicensed operation (cases) 148 170
Premises-based sex businesses on file 7,215 6,474
Delivery-type sex businesses on file 22,021 22,792
Adult video-streaming businesses on file 2,935 5,449

Read together, those rows describe a sector migrating out of buildings. Filed premises-based businesses have fallen every year for five years. Soaplands held roughly flat at 1,180; premises-based fashion health shops slid to 640. Delivery health barely moved. The only category that grew sharply was adult streaming, which nearly doubled.

Enforcement follows the same drift. Prohibited-area cases are down by nearly a third since 2021. Unlicensed operation is the one line that rose — the count for businesses police say never entered the system at all.

What the Charge Is Worth

Which penalty attaches here depends on which provision prosecutors cite, and the reporting has not settled that. The Kyoto Shimbun and the Yomiuri described the booking as unlicensed operation; Sankei framed it as prohibited-area operation.

The distinction has become expensive. The amended fūei-hō that took effect on June 28, 2025 raised the ceiling for unlicensed operation from two years' imprisonment or a 2 million yen fine to five years or 10 million yen for an individual, and from 2 million yen to 300 million yen for a corporation. The alleged conduct in Kyoto — July and August of 2026 — falls squarely after that change. Against an estimated 50 million yen in takings, a 10 million yen individual ceiling is no longer a rounding error, which was the point of raising it.

Courts are still calibrating. On September 3, the Yokohama District Court handed suspended sentences to two executives of Kami no Esthe, a chain that Kanagawa and Chiba police broke up in February with 15 arrests on prohibited-area allegations, the Kanagawa Shimbun reported. That is the pattern operators in this sector have long counted on: a first conviction, a suspended term, a replaceable manager, and a business that survives the arrest of whoever held the lease.

Kyoto has seen the fact pattern before. In July 2025, prefectural police arrested two women over a private massage business in Nakagyō Ward on notification and prohibited-zone allegations; both denied that sexual services were provided.

What is new in this week's case is the industrial shape of it. Not one room and one therapist, but four leases, a booking site, and roughly 45 women rotating through apartments a few minutes' walk from the busiest rail terminal in western Japan.


Sources: Kyoto Shimbun reporting of September 10, 2026 for the arrests, the ages and Fushimi Ward residences of the two men, the July 3 and August 7 allegations, the Shimogyo and Minami ward locations, the four one-room units near Kyoto Station, the online men's-esthe presentation, the involvement of a 24-year-old female employee and the investigating units; Sankei Shimbun reporting of September 10, 2026 for the September 9 arrest date, the names Yuto Shimizu, 29, and Rikuya Fujii, 27, the shop name KOAKUMA DOLL, the approximately 45 female employees and the roughly 50 million yen in sales between March 2025 and February 2026; Yomiuri Shimbun Online reporting of September 11, 2026 for the figures of more than 40 employees and about 50 million yen in one year; the National Police Agency Community Safety Bureau report "Current status of adult-entertainment businesses and enforcement of related offenses in 2025," published April 2026, for all national case counts, notification figures and the Oita men's-esthe model case; Fukui Prefectural Police guidance and published legal analyses of the June 28, 2025 amendment for the revised penalties for unlicensed operation; and Kanagawa Shimbun (Kanaloco) reporting of September 3, 2026 for the Yokohama District Court suspended sentences in the Kami no Esthe case and its February arrests. An arrest is an allegation, not a finding of guilt; police did not disclose the suspects' responses. Glossary: fūei-hō = the Businesses Affecting Public Morals Regulation Act, which licenses and polices nightlife and adult-entertainment businesses; tenpo-gata seifūzoku tokushu eigyō = a premises-based adult business, which must file notification and is barred from zones designated by prefectural ordinance; menzu esute = "men's esthetic," a massage-style service category with no licensing tier of its own; baishun bōshi-hō = the Anti-Prostitution Act, which penalizes third parties to prostitution rather than the seller or the buyer.